Jan 2019

Les rizières de Comporta

nature comporta

Les rizières sont au coeur de la vie et de l’histoire de Comporta. Depuis 1925, elles façonnent et colorent le paysage au gré des saisons. Vertes, jaunes ou miroir d’eau, les rizières enchantent et rythment la vie de cette région.

Une culture atypique

Les pousses serrées grandissent de manière désordonnée et donnent cet aspect sauvage et primitif à Comporta. Si la culture du riz a longtemps été manuelle, elle a pratiquement été remplacée par de petits avions qui bombardent à basse altitude les champs de semences. Ainsi semées, les graines tombent sur la terre et poussent au hasard.

Le paysage actuel de Comporta a donc été dessiné il y a près d’un siècle par cette culture atypique au Portugal. Cette portion de territoire est aujourd’hui protégée ou appartient à la Réserve naturelle de l’estuaire du Sado. Les rizières sont ainsi protégées, comme la faune et la flore si particulières qu’elles abritent.

L’appel de la nature

Pour mieux connaître les rizières il faut s’y perdre, sentir l’odeur des pinèdes autour, observer les oiseaux, les cours d’eau et les anciennes cabanes de pêcheurs. Il y règne une tranquille harmonie uniquement troublée par les claquements de bec des cigognes de plus en plus nombreuses. L’idéal est de s’y balader à pied, en vélo, à cheval ou même en paddle !

X

Restez informés sur Comporta et notre projet

Jan 2019

Strolling in the rice fields

The rice fields are at the heart of life in Comporta and the history of the village. Rice has been cultivated here since 1925. These fields shape and colour the landscape according to the seasons. Whether they are green, yellow or a mirror-like pool of water, they instil magic and rhythm in this region.

An atypical culture

The tightly-packed shoots grow haphazardly and transfer this wild and primitive quality to Comporta. Although the rice has been cultivated by hand for a long time, this process has been almost entirely replaced with small planes that scatter the fields with seeds at low altitude. After the seeds have been sown, they fall to the ground and grow at random.

In this way, the landscape we see in Comporta today was created almost a century ago through the cultivation of rice, a rare practice in Portugal. These sections of territory are now preserved by or belong the Sado Estuary Nature Reserve, allowing for the protection of these picturesque rice fields, as well as the fauna and flora that are found there.

The call of nature

In order to truly get to know the rice fields, you have to lose yourself in them, breathe in the scent of the surrounding pine forests, and spend time observing the birds, the waterways and the old huts of fishermen. There is a gentle sense of harmony here, uniquely offset by the sound of increasing numbers of storks snapping their beaks.

X

Stay informed about Comporta and our project